Oliver White Hill and His Family

In October 2000, the Oliver White Hill Foundation, a 501(c)(3) whose goal was to carry on the unfinished work of Mr. Hill and his associates in the field of civil rights, was established.  The primary focus of the Foundation has been to foster educational opportunities for young people interested in social justice. The Foundation has supported various programs and initiatives geared toward exposing youth to the law, legal profession and civil rights.

The Oliver White Hill Foundation’s inaugural Board included the Honorable Katherine Strickland of Roanoke, Virginia, who served as chair of the Board. Other inaugural members of the Board of Directors were Cabell Brand, of Salem; Oliver W. Hill, Jr., of Richmond; Esther Vassar, of Newport News; Alice Roberts, of Roanoke; Martin Jeffrey, of Roanoke; Norine Dunnaville, and Clarence Dunnaville.  Other notable past members of the Board the Honorable Jennifer McClenan, Attorney Jimmy Robinson, and Executive Director-Emeritis NAACP LDF, Elaine Jones.

Currently, the Board is lead by Ramona L. Taylor, who currently serves as University Legal Counsel of Virginia State University and Assistant Attorney General.  The Board includes Mary Thexton (McGuire/Woods), Dr. Oliver W. Hill, Jr., of Richmond, Anita Wynn (VSU), J. Maurice Hopkins, Ron Beauford (Heritage Foods), Ken Jones (Prestige Construction), Lacy B. Ward, Jr., Danielle Ferguson (Petersburg Commonwealth Attorney’s Office), Tony Villines (North Carolina Central University),Martin Jeffrey (Gainsboro Neighborhood Association), Monica Manns (Henrico Public Schools), Will Fitzhugh (Rowe, Rosen and Fitzhugh), and Dr. Jonathan Stubbs (University of Richmond).